2020 Star of Energy Efficiency Award | Alliance to Save Energy

2020 Star of Energy Efficiency Award

Alliance to Save Energy's Events

Featuring leading experts and stakeholders in the efficiency community, Alliance events move us toward our goal of a more energy-efficient world through starting dynamic conversations on principal issues, launching new initiatives, and honoring champions.

2020 Star of Energy Efficiency Award

Wednesday, December 2, 2020 : 05:00pm
Wednesday, December 2, 2020 : 06:00pm


Event Tabs Default Post-Event

Congratulations to Efficiency Maine Trust!

2020 Star of Energy Efficiency

The Alliance to Save Energy is thrilled to announce our 2020 Star of Energy Efficiency Award recipient, the Efficiency Maine Trust, for its leadership in beneficial electrification, weatherization, and more. For 10 years, the Trust, the independent administrator of efficiency programs in Maine, has supported tens of thousands of efficiency projects across the state that have saved consumers and businesses millions in lifetime energy costs. Thanks to the Trust, Maine was the first state in the country to bring to scale beneficial electrification of heating in buildings. Its robust beneficial electrification strategies have helped the state advance its aggressive climate goals while lowering monthly heating bills. The Trust has also focused on helping low-income households overcome high energy burdens through enhanced incentives and significantly extended program benefits to hard-to-reach sectors. To learn more about the Trust and its leadership in providing energy efficiency solutions to Mainers, read the complete nomination.

In a year of uncertainty and hardship, we believe it is more important than ever to commend those who continue to champion the pathway to a more energy-efficient world, so to that end, please join us virtually for an evening of celebration as we honor the Alliance’s 2020 Star of Energy Efficiency, as well as the induction of the 2020 class into the USEA Energy Efficiency Hall of Fame.

While we wish we could celebrate in-person, we look forward to spending an evening full of merriment and a few to-be-announced surprises with you virtually.

Earlier in the day, we will also be hosting the first annual Active Efficiency Forum, followed by USEA’s 30th Annual EE Forum. You can reserve your spot now for any or all of these exciting events with our shared registration form.

    1993: Senator Timothy E. Wirth
    1994: Pacific Gas and Electric Company; Representative Phillip R. Sharp; Secretary-General
              Maurice F. Strong
    1995: Dr. Arthur Rosenfeld; 3M 
    1996: Owens Corning; U.S. Department of Defense
    1997: Hector Ibarra; Andersen Corporation
    1998: IBM; Bernard Jamet
    1999: Whirlpool Corporation; The Durst Organization
    2000: Denis Hayes; Toyota
    2001: The ESCo Industry; Howard S. Geller
    2002: CertainTeed Corporation; Consumer Reports/Consumers Union; Dr. Amory Lovins;
              Sears, Roebuck & Co.
    2003: Frito-Lay, Inc; Johnson Controls, Inc; U.S. Department of the Navy
    2004: Bank of America; Bonneville Power Administration; Southern California Edison; Marriott
    2005: Dallas/Fort Worth International Airport; Burlington Electric Department; Ultra Light Steel
              Auto Body-Advanced Vehicle Concepts
    2006: The Dow Chemical Company; Power Integrations, Inc.; National Affordable Housing
              Network; Trust Fund for Electric Energy Savings (FIDE)
    2007: The Home Depot; Orion Energy Systems; National Association of Regulatory Utility
              Commissioners; International Energy Agency
    2008: United Technologies Corporation; Rinnai Corporation; York County School Division;
              Embraco; Jupiter Oxygen Corporation 
    2009: U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development; Aquarium of the Pacific; Warren
              County Public School System, KY; National Housing Commission (CONAVI)/National
              Fund for Housing (INFONAVIT), Mexico; 3M Company 
    2010: U-Haul International, Inc.; Cincinnati Zoo; Opower; Efficiency New Brunswick/Environment
              Canada; Danfoss
    2011: Briggs & Stratton; Air-Conditioning, Heating, and Refrigeration Institute; Solutions for
              Energy Efficient Logistics; Sustainable Energy Authority of Ireland; ThinkEco
    2012: Kroger Co.; Advantix Systems Inc.; Corporation for Ohio Appalachian Development;
              Eletrobras; DIRECTV
    2013: LA Metro; Lime Energy; Keystone HELP, Building & Construction Authority of Singapore;
              Whirlpool Corporation
    2014: MGM Resorts International, Nest Labs Inc., National Housing Trust, The Olympic
              Movement, Phipps Conservatory & Botanical Gardens
    2015: Cinemark Theatres, Danfoss, L'Oreal USA, Public Service Electric & Gas (PSE&G) 
    2016: Lockheed Martin, Sacramento Municipal Utility District, Staples, Tennessee Valley
    2017: 7-Eleven, Schneider Electric, American Water, Chevrolet Bolt EV
    2018: Agder Energi and Microsoft, Legrand North and Central America, Southern California
              Edison, Target, Thyssenkrupp, Tom Wenning
    2019: Alabama Power; Ingersoll Rand; OhmConnect; Pepco Holdings
    1995: Senator Mark O. Hatfield
    1996: Charles R. Imbrecht
    1997: Governor Tommy G. Thompson
    1998: Representative David E. Skaggs
    1999: R. E. “Ted” Turner
    2000: Habitat for Humanity
    2001: Governor George E. Pataki
    2002: The ENERGY STAR Program
    2003: City of Austin, Texas
    2004: Assistant Secretary David K. Garman
    2005: Michael Peevey
    2006: Mayor Matthew Driscoll
    2007: Western Governors’ Association
    2008: Jon Wellinghoff
    2009: Governor Deval Patrick
    2010: S. Richard Fedrizzi
    2011: Dr. Daniel Yergin
    2012: Ambassador Bruce Oreck
    2013: Regional Greenhouse Gas Initiative
    2014: Administrator Gina McCarthy
    2015: Dr. Kandeh Yumkella, Former CEO, Sustainable Energy for All
    2016: U.S. Department of Energy Secretary Ernest Moniz 
    2017: NREL
    1998: John W. Rowe
    1999: North American Insulation Manufacturers Association
    2000: Dean T. Langford
    2002: Senator Jeff Bingaman
    2003: Representative Edward J. Markey
    2004: Thomas R. Kuhn
    2005: William Keese and Ross Pillari
    2006: Lee Scott
    2007: Jones Lang LaSalle
    2008: Philips Electronics
    2009: Secretary Steven Chu
    2010: Assistant Secretary Cathy Zoi
    2011: Assistant Secretary Jackalyne Pfannenstiel
    2013: Secretary Ray Mabus
    2014: Elon Musk
    2015: IBM
    2016: Johnson Controls, Inc.
    2017: Itron
    2018: American University
    2019: CPS Power




Help the Alliance advocate for policies to use energy more efficiently – supporting job creation, reduced emissions, and lower costs. Contact your member of Congress.


Energy efficiency is smart, nonpartisan, and practical. So are we. Our strength comes from an unparalleled group of Alliance Associates working collaboratively under the Alliance umbrella to pave the way for energy efficiency gains.


The power of efficiency is in your hands. Supporting the Alliance means supporting a vision for using energy more productively to achieve economic growth, a cleaner environment, and greater energy security, affordability, and reliability.