2020 Star of Energy Efficiency Award | Alliance to Save Energy
Wednesday, December 2, 2020 : 05:00pm
Wednesday, December 2, 2020 : 06:00pm


Congratulations to Efficiency Maine Trust!

2020 Star of Energy Efficiency

The Alliance to Save Energy is thrilled to announce our 2020 Star of Energy Efficiency Award recipient, the Efficiency Maine Trust, for its leadership in beneficial electrification, weatherization, and more. For 10 years, the Trust, the independent administrator of efficiency programs in Maine, has supported tens of thousands of efficiency projects across the state that have saved consumers and businesses millions in lifetime energy costs. Thanks to the Trust, Maine was the first state in the country to bring to scale beneficial electrification of heating in buildings. Its robust beneficial electrification strategies have helped the state advance its aggressive climate goals while lowering monthly heating bills. The Trust has also focused on helping low-income households overcome high energy burdens through enhanced incentives and significantly extended program benefits to hard-to-reach sectors. To learn more about the Trust and its leadership in providing energy efficiency solutions to Mainers, read the complete nomination.

We look forward to celebrating the Efficiency Maine Trust virtually on December 2 as part of the USEA EE Forum, which the Alliance will be co-hosting. We invite you to save the date for the EE Forum, as well as the Alliance’s inaugural Active Efficiency Forum which will be hosted that morning. Additional details, including an agenda and registration, will be available in the coming weeks.

1993: Senator Timothy E. Wirth
1994: Pacific Gas and Electric Company; Representative Phillip R. Sharp; Secretary-General
          Maurice F. Strong
1995: Dr. Arthur Rosenfeld; 3M 
1996: Owens Corning; U.S. Department of Defense
1997: Hector Ibarra; Andersen Corporation
1998: IBM; Bernard Jamet
1999: Whirlpool Corporation; The Durst Organization
2000: Denis Hayes; Toyota
2001: The ESCo Industry; Howard S. Geller
2002: CertainTeed Corporation; Consumer Reports/Consumers Union; Dr. Amory Lovins;
          Sears, Roebuck & Co.
2003: Frito-Lay, Inc; Johnson Controls, Inc; U.S. Department of the Navy
2004: Bank of America; Bonneville Power Administration; Southern California Edison; Marriott
2005: Dallas/Fort Worth International Airport; Burlington Electric Department; Ultra Light Steel
          Auto Body-Advanced Vehicle Concepts
2006: The Dow Chemical Company; Power Integrations, Inc.; National Affordable Housing
          Network; Trust Fund for Electric Energy Savings (FIDE)
2007: The Home Depot; Orion Energy Systems; National Association of Regulatory Utility
          Commissioners; International Energy Agency
2008: United Technologies Corporation; Rinnai Corporation; York County School Division;
          Embraco; Jupiter Oxygen Corporation 
2009: U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development; Aquarium of the Pacific; Warren
          County Public School System, KY; National Housing Commission (CONAVI)/National
          Fund for Housing (INFONAVIT), Mexico; 3M Company 
2010: U-Haul International, Inc.; Cincinnati Zoo; Opower; Efficiency New Brunswick/Environment
          Canada; Danfoss
2011: Briggs & Stratton; Air-Conditioning, Heating, and Refrigeration Institute; Solutions for
          Energy Efficient Logistics; Sustainable Energy Authority of Ireland; ThinkEco
2012: Kroger Co.; Advantix Systems Inc.; Corporation for Ohio Appalachian Development;
          Eletrobras; DIRECTV
2013: LA Metro; Lime Energy; Keystone HELP, Building & Construction Authority of Singapore;
          Whirlpool Corporation
2014: MGM Resorts International, Nest Labs Inc., National Housing Trust, The Olympic
          Movement, Phipps Conservatory & Botanical Gardens
2015: Cinemark Theatres, Danfoss, L'Oreal USA, Public Service Electric & Gas (PSE&G) 
2016: Lockheed Martin, Sacramento Municipal Utility District, Staples, Tennessee Valley
2017: 7-Eleven, Schneider Electric, American Water, Chevrolet Bolt EV
2018: Agder Energi and Microsoft, Legrand North and Central America, Southern California
          Edison, Target, Thyssenkrupp, Tom Wenning
2019: Alabama Power; Ingersoll Rand; OhmConnect; Pepco Holdings
1995: Senator Mark O. Hatfield
1996: Charles R. Imbrecht
1997: Governor Tommy G. Thompson
1998: Representative David E. Skaggs
1999: R. E. “Ted” Turner
2000: Habitat for Humanity
2001: Governor George E. Pataki
2002: The ENERGY STAR Program
2003: City of Austin, Texas
2004: Assistant Secretary David K. Garman
2005: Michael Peevey
2006: Mayor Matthew Driscoll
2007: Western Governors’ Association
2008: Jon Wellinghoff
2009: Governor Deval Patrick
2010: S. Richard Fedrizzi
2011: Dr. Daniel Yergin
2012: Ambassador Bruce Oreck
2013: Regional Greenhouse Gas Initiative
2014: Administrator Gina McCarthy
2015: Dr. Kandeh Yumkella, Former CEO, Sustainable Energy for All
2016: U.S. Department of Energy Secretary Ernest Moniz 
2017: NREL
1998: John W. Rowe
1999: North American Insulation Manufacturers Association
2000: Dean T. Langford
2002: Senator Jeff Bingaman
2003: Representative Edward J. Markey
2004: Thomas R. Kuhn
2005: William Keese and Ross Pillari
2006: Lee Scott
2007: Jones Lang LaSalle
2008: Philips Electronics
2009: Secretary Steven Chu
2010: Assistant Secretary Cathy Zoi
2011: Assistant Secretary Jackalyne Pfannenstiel
2013: Secretary Ray Mabus
2014: Elon Musk
2015: IBM
2016: Johnson Controls, Inc.
2017: Itron
2018: American University
2019: CPS Power