Senator Mark Pryor New Chair of Alliance to Save Energy; Outgoing Chair Sen. Byron Dorgan Remains As Vice-Chair

Release Date: Monday, October 24, 2005

Washington, D.C., October 21, 2005 – The Board of Directors of the Alliance to Save Energy has elected Sen. Mark Pryor (D-Ark.) as its new chair. Pryor will take office Jan 1, 2006, joining Alliance Co-Chair James H. DeGraffenreidt, Jr., the chairman and CEO of Washington Gas, at the head of the organization’s board. Sen. Byron Dorgan (D-N.D.), who has served as Alliance chair for the past four years, will remain on the board as one of seven congressional vice-chairs.

“Sen. Mark Pryor brings his skills as an effective legislator who can bridge the partisan divide, his vision for advancing the Alliance’s energy-efficiency mission, and his commitment to our goal of reducing U.S. energy use to the chairmanship of the Alliance to Save Energy’s Board of Directors,” said Alliance President Kateri Callahan.

“As a member of the Senate Commerce, Science and Transportation Committee, Sen. Pryor is well-positioned to advise the Alliance on viable energy-efficiency options in the critical transportation sector,” Callahan added. “We are delighted that Sen. Pryor has accepted the position as our new chair, and we look forward to working with him.”

“I share the Alliance’s vision of creating a more energy-efficient nation, and I look forward to helping the Alliance build broad, bipartisan support in Congress for policies and initiatives that will help move us towards greater energy independence,” Pryor said.

Callahan noted, “The Alliance owes a tremendous debt of gratitude to our outgoing chair, Sen. Byron Dorgan of North Dakota, whose four years of service have enhanced the Alliance’s effectiveness and visibility. We are grateful that Sen. Dorgan will continue to serve the Alliance as one of our congressional vice-chairs.”

“It has been an honor to lead the Alliance as chair of its Board of Directors for the past four years,” said Sen. Dorgan. “I look forward to my continued service on the Alliance board, and I am delighted that my colleague Sen. Mark Pryor will be stepping into the post of Alliance chair. I am confident that he will work aggressively to make our nation more energy efficient and more energy independent.”

Alliance Co-Chair DeGraffenreidt said, “It has been a pleasure to co-chair the Alliance with the Honorable Byron Dorgan. He has done an exemplary job for the Alliance during the past four years as we have worked together to give voice to the Alliance on Capitol Hill. I welcome Sen. Mark Pryor as incoming chair. He brings strong leadership and a wealth of ideas necessary to keep energy-efficiency goals in the forefront as we continue and expand our efforts to advocate for the efficient and wise use of our valuable energy resources.”