New Senate Committee Leadership Brings Optimism For Action On Energy Efficiency Issues

Release Date: Wednesday, February 12, 2014

Statement from the Alliance to Save Energy’s Elizabeth Tate

Today’s approval of Senate committee leadership changes brings with it optimism that energy efficiency will take center stage in Congress this year. By a resolution approved Tuesday, Senator Ron Wyden (D-OR), formerly the  Chairman of the Energy and Natural Resources Committee, will replace retiring Senator Max Baucus (D-MT) as Chairman of the Finance Committee, and Senator Mary Landrieu (D-LA) will step in as the new Chairman of the Energy Committee.  The gavels will officially change hands later this week.

An honorary board member of the Alliance, Senator Wyden has chaired the Energy Committee since the beginning of the 113th Congress and is a long-time supporter of energy efficiency. The Alliance is hopeful he will continue to champion this important issue in his new post.

Senator Landrieu has also been supportive of energy efficiency policy, having cosponsored several energy efficiency bills, including a previous version of Shaheen-Portman and the MLP Parity Act, which would extend a tax advantage enjoyed by traditional energy suppliers to energy efficiency and renewable energy businesses. 

The Alliance congratulates Chairman Wyden and Chairman Landrieu’s ongoing leadership and anticipates a productive year for energy efficiency.

Media Contacts