Gov. Schwarzenegger, Kingdom of Denmark, and Songdo City Honored with Visionary Awards at Energy Efficiency Global Forum | Alliance to Save Energy

Gov. Schwarzenegger, Kingdom of Denmark, and Songdo City Honored with Visionary Awards at Energy Efficiency Global Forum

Release Date: Thursday, May 8, 2014

Register Today | Full EE Global Agenda 

WHAT: Top energy efficiency stakeholders from all sectors will participate in the Alliance to Save Energy's Energy Efficiency Global Forum (EE Global), the world’s premier, invitation only energy efficiency conference May 20-21, 2014. A key component of the agenda is the annual EE Visionary Awards Luncheon, which will take place the second day of EE Global. These awards honor officials from around the world for their leadership and commitment to promoting energy efficiency and increasing energy productivity through innovative programs and policies. The 2014 EE Visionary Award recipients represent a spectrum of local, national, and global government entities.

Hon. Arnold Schwarzenegger will be honored for his efforts to advance energy efficiency during his tenure as Governor of California, and through his non-profit Regions 20, which promotes and implements projects that provide economic benefit while reducing energy consumption in over 560 regional governments from around the world. Christophe Nuttall of Regions 20 will be accepting the award on Schwarzenegger’s behalf.  

The Kingdom of Demark will be recognized for its progressive energy and environmental policies and standards, which are an exemplary model of next generation energy efficiency.  Danish Minister of Climate, Energy and Building Rasmus Helveg Petersen will accept the award and make formal remarks.

Songdo International Business District, “City of the Future,” in Incheon, South Korea will be receiving an EE Visionary Award for implementing diverse policies and technologies in urban planning, efficiency, and conservation. Commissioner Lee Jong-Cheol will be accepting the award on Songdo’s behalf.

WHO: 2014 EE Visionary Award recipients include:

Hon. Arnold Schwarzenegger, Founding Chair, Regions 20 (via video), award being accepted on his behalf by Christophe Nuttall, Executive Director, Regions 20
Min. Rasmus Helveg Petersen, Minister for Climate, Energy and Building, Danish Ministry of Climate, Energy and Building
Lee Jong-Cheol, Commissioner, Songdo, Incheon City, South Korea

WHEN: EE Global will take place May 20-21; the EE Visionary Awards Luncheon will occur on May 21 at 12:30 pm.

WHERE: Walter E. Washington Convention Center
801 Mount Vernon Place, NW Washington, D.C. 20001

Media Contacts