Alliance to Save Energy Elects State Energy Officials, Corporate Executives, Members of Congress to its Board of Directors | Alliance to Save Energy

Alliance to Save Energy Elects State Energy Officials, Corporate Executives, Members of Congress to its Board of Directors

Release Date: Thursday, May 7, 2009

Washington, D.C., May 6, 2008 – The Alliance to Save Energy has elected six new members to its Board of Directors: Sen. Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska); Julia Levin, commissioner, California Energy Commission; Frank Murray, president and CEO of the New York State Energy Research and Development Authority (NYSERDA); Rob Shaddock, senior vice president and chief technology officer, Tyco Electronics; Kevin Ries, vice president and general manager, 3M; and Rep. Paul Tonko (D-N.Y.), who returns to the Alliance Board after previously serving on it as the CEO of NYSERDA.

“These latest additions to the Alliance’s Board of Directors, including two new honorary congressional vice chairs, one from each side of the political aisle, ensure that we will continue to benefit from a diversity of perspectives from public service and private industry,” said Alliance President Kateri Callahan. “The Alliance will build upon the new Board members’ demonstrated commitment and effectiveness in advancing energy efficiency worldwide.”

The addition of Sen. Murkowski and Rep. Tonko brings to nine the number of honorary congressional vice-chairs on the Alliance Board – four U.S. senators and five U.S. representatives – in addition to the seat held by Honorary Board Chair Sen. Mark Pryor (D-Ark.).

Sen. Murkowski said, “I am pleased to serve as an honorary vice-chair of the Alliance to Save Energy. The Alliance has an impressive track record for bringing stakeholders together to ensure that we all work to make better use of the energy resources we already have. There is no question that we, as a nation, must set an example by stepping up our energy efficiency efforts. I look forward to working with the Alliance in this new capacity.”

After establishing her own law firm and extensive public service in the Alaska State House of Representatives, Sen. Murkowski was appointed to the Senate in 2002 and elected in 2004. She is the Ranking Republican Member of the Energy and Natural Resources Committee and also serves on the Appropriations Committee.

“In my new role as an honorary vice-chair, I plan to continue to advocate for policies, programs and initiatives that will advance energy efficiency, which is this nation’s greatest energy resource and our most immediate and cost-effective means of tackling today’s high energy prices and building a sustainable energy future,” said Tonko. “As one of the world’s leading and most respected voices on energy efficiency, the Alliance provides a terrific platform for helping accomplish this all-important goal.”

Congressman Tonko is serving his first term in Congress representing the 21st District of New York, which includes the state capital, Albany. His membership on the Committee on Science and Technology merges his energy expertise with his environmental agenda. By serving on subcommittees for Energy and Environment, Research and Science Education, and Technology and Innovation, Rep. Tonko hopes to foster an environment in which innovation and cutting-edge research and design spur economic development in his congressional district.

Levin was appointed to the California Energy Commission by Gov. Arnold Schwarzenegger on February 5, 2009, and fills the environmental protection position which requires specific professional expertise. Levin previously worked for the National Audubon Society’s global warming campaign and was the first chair of the board of the American Wind Wildlife Institute.

Comissioner Levin commented, "I am honored and excited to join the Board of the Alliance and proud to represent the California Energy Commission, whose mission for the last 35 years has placed energy efficiency and renewable energy at the forefront of California's energy policy - a vision shared by the Alliance for the nation.”

Murray was appointed president and chief executive officer of NYSERDA on January 26, 2009. Prior to his appointment, Murray served as senior advisor at the international environmental consulting firm Ecology and Environment, Inc., where he provided strategic policy and market development guidance on environmental and energy issues to a number of private sector and nonprofit clients.

“I am honored to join the Alliance Board and look forward to working with my colleagues from across the nation in promoting energy-efficiency programs that will protect our environment, reduce our reliance on fossil fuels, and create millions of green collar jobs,” Murray said. “Increasing the national investment in energy efficiency programs is the most cost-effective way to lower energy bills for consumers while reducing the emissions of greenhouse gases. The policies advocated by the Alliance will continue to lead America toward a more efficient, sustainable, and secure energy future.”

Shaddock is senior vice president and chief technology officer at Tyco Electronics with a focus on rebuilding the company’s product portfolio, introducing new technology and innovation, and creating a sustainable, long-term product planning process.

“I am delighted to have the opportunity to serve on the Alliance Board,” Shaddock commented. “I look forward to leveraging Tyco Electronics’ long and rich history in the energy industry to promote innovations in areas such as renewable energy, more efficient energy transmission and distribution, and improvements in energy measurement to advance conservation and enable a greener global environment.”

Ries started his career at 3M in 1978 and has progressed through a series of assignments to his current position as vice president and general manager. With responsibility for EM’s Building and Commercial Services Division, he is in a position to represent the company as it relates to sustainable building life cycles.

“I am honored to join the Alliance Board of Directors and to represent 3M and its array of technologies and solutions towards energy efficiencies,” Ries said. “3M is committed to driving renewable energy sources, as well as offering products to the market that can aid in the conservation of energy and the reduction of greenhouse gas emissions. As a founding member of the Alliance we are proud to take an active role in such a worthy effort,” he said.

Alliance Board co-chair and President and CEO of Duke Energy commented, “Collectively, these six newly elected board members represent a wealth of knowledge and expertise. Their broad and varied experience will further advance the alliance’s efforts at putting energy efficiency front and center in the worldwide battle against global warming,” commented Alliance Board Co-Chair and President and CEO of Duke Energy Jim Rogers.

“Congratulations to the new Alliance Board members. I look forward to working closely with them, especially in this busy legislative year for energy issues,” said Sen. Pryor. “All of the Board members bring valuable leadership to the mission of promoting energy efficiency.”