2020 Evening with Stars of Energy Efficiency Awards Gala | Alliance to Save Energy
Thursday, September 17, 2020 : 06:00pm
Thursday, September 17, 2020 : 10:00pm
Andrew W. Mellon Auditorium : Washington, DC


For 28 years, the prestigious Star of Energy Efficiency awards have celebrated market-leading advances in efficiency. We’ve honored 148 individuals, organizations, and companies. We’ve grown from an evening honoring a single awardee, to recognizing up to half a dozen recipients in categories that span sectors, revenue, and technologies. Along the way we’ve faced a recession, government shutdowns, and natural disasters – yet “energy prom” has gone on.

The COVID-19 pandemic’s impact on our industry and the Alliance’s priorities is significant. As the largest employer in the energy sector, energy efficiency workers are experiencing unprecedented layoffs, and investments in everything from retrofit services and efficient building materials to home appliances will take a hit. The Alliance, along with partners and advocates, are working to protect the industry during this unprecedented time. While we cannot predict the future, we know that this industry is resilient. That’s why once again, the prom will go on – in one form or another – and we will look to celebrate our industry’s accomplishments and resilience. In a time where very little is simple, the Alliance is simplifying our call for nominations with three broad categories:

Charles H. Percy Award for Public Service: This is the Alliance’s highest award. It is presented each year to an individual, public official, or organization in recognition of an outstanding public service contribution and/or a lifetime commitment to energy efficiency.

Star of Energy Efficiency Award: This award honors organizations and companies that have demonstrated a sterling commitment to advancing energy efficiency.

Innovative Star of Energy Efficiency Award: This award recognizes an emerging technology or service that has the potential to transform a sector of the energy efficiency market but which, given the early stage of innovation, has yet to generate proven savings.

Join us in celebrating our energy efficiency champions by submitting a nomination for either your organization or another whom you feel is a deserving candidate. Visit our nominations portal for complete guidelines and to apply online. We realize there is great uncertainty regarding whether it will be safe for all of us to come together on September 17th to celebrate our 2020 Stars of Energy Efficiency. The Alliance event team has been developing a number of contingency plans that will allow for a meaningful celebration while prioritizing safety; we will continue to provide updates as they are available.

Watch the below video for a taste of what the "energy prom" looks like:

1993: Senator Timothy E. Wirth
1994: Pacific Gas and Electric Company; Representative Phillip R. Sharp; Secretary-General
          Maurice F. Strong
1995: Dr. Arthur Rosenfeld; 3M 
1996: Owens Corning; U.S. Department of Defense
1997: Hector Ibarra; Andersen Corporation
1998: IBM; Bernard Jamet
1999: Whirlpool Corporation; The Durst Organization
2000: Denis Hayes; Toyota
2001: The ESCo Industry; Howard S. Geller
2002: CertainTeed Corporation; Consumer Reports/Consumers Union; Dr. Amory Lovins;
          Sears, Roebuck & Co.
2003: Frito-Lay, Inc; Johnson Controls, Inc; U.S. Department of the Navy
2004: Bank of America; Bonneville Power Administration; Southern California Edison; Marriott
2005: Dallas/Fort Worth International Airport; Burlington Electric Department; Ultra Light Steel
          Auto Body-Advanced Vehicle Concepts
2006: The Dow Chemical Company; Power Integrations, Inc.; National Affordable Housing
          Network; Trust Fund for Electric Energy Savings (FIDE)
2007: The Home Depot; Orion Energy Systems; National Association of Regulatory Utility
          Commissioners; International Energy Agency
2008: United Technologies Corporation; Rinnai Corporation; York County School Division;
          Embraco; Jupiter Oxygen Corporation 
2009: U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development; Aquarium of the Pacific; Warren
          County Public School System, KY; National Housing Commission (CONAVI)/National
          Fund for Housing (INFONAVIT), Mexico; 3M Company 
2010: U-Haul International, Inc.; Cincinnati Zoo; Opower; Efficiency New Brunswick/Environment
          Canada; Danfoss
2011: Briggs & Stratton; Air-Conditioning, Heating, and Refrigeration Institute; Solutions for
          Energy Efficient Logistics; Sustainable Energy Authority of Ireland; ThinkEco
2012: Kroger Co.; Advantix Systems Inc.; Corporation for Ohio Appalachian Development;
          Eletrobras; DIRECTV
2013: LA Metro; Lime Energy; Keystone HELP, Building & Construction Authority of Singapore;
          Whirlpool Corporation
2014: MGM Resorts International, Nest Labs Inc., National Housing Trust, The Olympic
          Movement, Phipps Conservatory & Botanical Gardens
2015: Cinemark Theatres, Danfoss, L'Oreal USA, Public Service Electric & Gas (PSE&G) 
2016: Lockheed Martin, Sacramento Municipal Utility District, Staples, Tennessee Valley
2017: 7-Eleven, Schneider Electric, American Water, Chevrolet Bolt EV
2018: Agder Energi and Microsoft, Legrand North and Central America, Southern California
          Edison, Target, Thyssenkrupp, Tom Wenning
2019: Alabama Power; Ingersoll Rand; OhmConnect; Pepco Holdings
1995: Senator Mark O. Hatfield
1996: Charles R. Imbrecht
1997: Governor Tommy G. Thompson
1998: Representative David E. Skaggs
1999: R. E. “Ted” Turner
2000: Habitat for Humanity
2001: Governor George E. Pataki
2002: The ENERGY STAR Program
2003: City of Austin, Texas
2004: Assistant Secretary David K. Garman
2005: Michael Peevey
2006: Mayor Matthew Driscoll
2007: Western Governors’ Association
2008: Jon Wellinghoff
2009: Governor Deval Patrick
2010: S. Richard Fedrizzi
2011: Dr. Daniel Yergin
2012: Ambassador Bruce Oreck
2013: Regional Greenhouse Gas Initiative
2014: Administrator Gina McCarthy
2015: Dr. Kandeh Yumkella, Former CEO, Sustainable Energy for All
2016: U.S. Department of Energy Secretary Ernest Moniz 
2017: NREL
1998: John W. Rowe
1999: North American Insulation Manufacturers Association
2000: Dean T. Langford
2002: Senator Jeff Bingaman
2003: Representative Edward J. Markey
2004: Thomas R. Kuhn
2005: William Keese and Ross Pillari
2006: Lee Scott
2007: Jones Lang LaSalle
2008: Philips Electronics
2009: Secretary Steven Chu
2010: Assistant Secretary Cathy Zoi
2011: Assistant Secretary Jackalyne Pfannenstiel
2013: Secretary Ray Mabus
2014: Elon Musk
2015: IBM
2016: Johnson Controls, Inc.
2017: Itron
2018: American University
2019: CPS Power