Clay Nesler | Alliance to Save Energy
Clay Nesler
Board President

Clay Nesler

Interim President

Clay Nesler is the Interim President of the Alliance to Save Energy. As an executive on-loan, Clay comes from Johnson Controls where he serves as Vice President, Global Sustainability and Regulatory Affairs. Since joining Johnson Controls in 1983, he has held a variety of leadership positions in research, product development, marketing, strategy, manufacturing, corporate sustainability and regulatory affairs in both the United States and Europe and currently chairs the company’s global sustainability council.

Clay serves on the board of American Council for an Energy Efficient Economy, the GSA green buildings advisory committee, and the executive group of the US DOE/EPA SEE Action network. He helped establish the UN Sustainable Energy for All Building Efficiency Accelerator and serves as co-chair of the Industrial Advisory Board of the US-China Clean Energy Research Center and is a member of the International Energy Agency Energy Efficiency Industry Advisory Board. In 2009, he started the Johnson Controls Institute for Building Efficiency which has been integrated within the World Resources Institute Ross Center for Sustainable Cities, where he serves as a senior advisor to the Building Efficiency Initiative. Clay has previously served as vice-chair of the World Environment Center, participated on the Wisconsin Governor’s Task Force on Global Warming, and served as a sustainable buildings advisor to the Clinton Global Initiative.

Clay received BS and MS degrees in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and is a co-inventor on 12 patents. He is a winner of the 2005 Corenet Global Innovator’s Award, the 2012 Greenbiz VERGE 25 award, a 2015 Distinguished Alumnus Award from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Department of Mechanical Science and Engineering, a 2017 leadership award from the U.S. Green Building Council and the 2019 Wisconsin Sustainable Business Council Leadership Forward Award.