Washington Gas Chairman, CEO James DeGraffenreidt Will Co-Chair Alliance to Save Energy Board of Directors

Release Date: Wednesday, December 15, 2004

Washington, D.C., December 10, 2004 – The Alliance to Save Energy has named board member and energy-efficiency advocate James H. DeGraffenreidt, Jr., chairman and CEO of Washington Gas, as its new co-chairman, effective January 1, 2005. He joins current Alliance Chair Sen. Byron Dorgan (D-N.D.).

Alliance Co-Chair Dean Langford, former CEO of OSRAM SYLVANIA and the Alliance’s first business co-chair, will become chairman emeritus, a lifetime appointment.

In addition, the Alliance announced two new congressional vice-chairs:

  • Rep. Ralph Hall (R-Texas);
  • Rep. Zach Wamp (R-Tenn.).

They join current Vice-Chairs Sen. Susan Collins (R-Maine), Sen. Jeff Bingaman (D-N.M.), Sen. James Jeffords (I-Vt.), and Rep. Edward Markey (D-Mass.).

The Alliance also announced three new board members:

  • Robert Foster, president, Southern California Edison;
  • Geoffrey Hunt, senior vice president, communications and human resources, OSRAM SYLVANIA;
  • Robert J. Dixon, senior vice president and global head, energy services and solutions, Siemens Building Technologies, Inc..

All appointments are effective January 1, 2005.